Chinese Symbol Wedding Cupcakes

One of my best friends got married in June and asked guests to contribute cupcakes for their evening reception.  My friend is English, but his lovely wife is from Taiwan and so they decided to use eastern and western influences in their celebrations….

After testing out a few recipes on the people at work, I decided to go for red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.  I used a free online recipe for the red velvet cakes and cream cheese frosting, which came out really nicely.  I’d recommend using red gel food colouring to get a really rich colour:

To make the cakes look a bit more special, I made some lacy cupcake holders from doilies – I find a great tutorial on the Intimate Weddings blog for this.  I also piped out some Chinese “double happy” symbols (which are used as decorations for weddings and chinese new year) in chocolate to decorate the tops of my cakes.  You have to have a very steady hand for this, so I did a whole A4 sheet and chose the best ones!

I was pretty happy with the final result and people seemed to enjoy them at the wedding.  Sadly I was too busy dancing to taste one myself!

Leave a Reply

